<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Pelland Advertising Blog - Web Site Development for Small Businesses &#187; Domain Names International</title>
	<atom:link href="http://blog.pelland.com/tag/domain-names-international/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://blog.pelland.com</link>
	<description>by Peter Pelland / Pelland Advertising</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 13 Oct 2011 03:45:35 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Domain Tasting: The Sour Follow-Up</title>
		<link>http://blog.pelland.com/2010/06/09/domain-tasting-the-sour-follow-up/</link>
		<comments>http://blog.pelland.com/2010/06/09/domain-tasting-the-sour-follow-up/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 10 Jun 2010 00:52:04 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Peter Pelland</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Domain Name Registrations]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cyber squatting]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cybersquatting]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domain front running]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Domain Names International]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domain registration rip-offs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domain registration scams]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domain tasting]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domainers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eTraffic Services]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[InTrust Domains]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ThoughtConvergence.com]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Threadshare.com]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.pelland.com/?p=40</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Just in case there were any doubts about the validity of my previous post, here is a current real-world example in evidence.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Just in case there were any doubts about the validity of my <a title="“Domain Tasting” Is a Pretty Tasteless Practice" href="http://blog.pelland.com/?p=39">previous post</a>, here is a current real-world example in evidence. One of our clients is a tea merchant who owns the trademark to Hu-Kwa tea. They have owned the hu-kwa.com domain name for quite some time now. Last week, I was contacted by two companies within an hour, each offering to sell me  hukwa.com (without the hyphen), one using multiple e-mails.  The first was a company called Flex Media / Flex Media Domains, which sent me an e-mail which included a “Priority Sales” hyperlink. This outfit is supposedly located in Hollywood, Florida. The second contact came in the form of three e-mails from InTrust Domains / Domain Names International / eTraffic Services, an outfit supposedly located in Colorado Springs, Colorado, sending me what they called a “Priority Domain Availability Notice.  According to their website, they “currently manage a portfolio of approximately 10,000 domains, with about 70 new domains added each day.” I did a whois lookup at the time, and it very suspiciously showed nothing. I replied to this second company via e-mail, asking them for a price and the registration history (no reply, of course), although their e-mail directed me to a form where I could “express my interest”. I didn’t use the form with either of these outfits. Yesterday, I was contacted again, with a follow-up offer to sell me the “now available”  hukwa.com. This time I clicked on the form, out of curiosity. It said that the price would be $397.00 and had a payment form.</p>
<p>I just did another whois lookup. Guess what? The company that contacted me yesterday registered the domain name YESTERDAY. I am guessing that happened immediately upon my clicking on their link! Either they are also “tasting” for 5 days, or &#8211; once they’ve had somebody express interest &#8211; they actually will keep the domain for a year. The price is $397.00 for a domain that they bought yesterday for about $6.00 (and can probably get refunded under a grace period).</p>
<p>Here is the current whois lookup information for the domain:<br />
Domain Name: HUKWA.COM<br />
Created On: 08-JUN-2010<br />
Last Updated On: 08-JUN-2010<br />
Expiration Date: 08-JUN-2011<br />
Sponsoring Registrar: THREADSHARE.COM, INC<br />
Status: ok<br />
Registrant Name: Domain Admin<br />
Registrant Organization: InTrust Domain Names<br />
Registrant Street1: 4845A Pearl East Circle<br />
Registrant City: Boulder<br />
Registrant State/Province: CO<br />
Registrant Postal Code: 80301<br />
Registrant Country: US<br />
Registrant Phone: (1)(866) 582-2599<br />
Registrant Email: <a href="mailto:domain@itdomainnames.net">domain@itdomainnames.net</a><br />
Tech Email: <a href="mailto:domain@itdomainnames.net">domain@itdomainnames.net</a><br />
Name Server: CALL.303-800-0310.COM<br />
Name Server: FOR-SALE-AT.INTRUSTDOMAINS.COM</p>
<p>Check out the “website” of their registrar: <a href="http://threadshare.com/">http://threadshare.com/</a><br />
Does this look like the site of a legitimate registrar? Not in my mind.</p>
<p>Here is the whois lookup for ThreadShare.com:<br />
AboutUs: threadshare.com<br />
Registration Service Provided By: Thought Convergence<br />
Contact: <a href="mailto:domains@thoughtconvergence.com">domains@thoughtconvergence.com</a><br />
Domain name: threadshare.com<br />
Registrant Contact:<br />
Thought Convergence, Inc.<br />
Domain Administrator ()<br />
11300 W. Olympic Boulevard<br />
Suite 900<br />
Los Angeles, CA 90064<br />
US</p>
<p>ThoughtConvergence.com is located at the same address in Los Angeles.</p>
<p>Totally legal. Totally unethical. Isn’t the Internet wonderful?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://blog.pelland.com/2010/06/09/domain-tasting-the-sour-follow-up/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

